Rebuilding Together Honors Brad Segal with Patty R. Johnson Community Builder Award

Rebuilding Together affiliates in Wisconsin, Tennessee, Washington received competitive Awards for Excellence

WASHINGTON, D.C., November 5, 2020 — Rebuilding Together, the leading national nonprofit organization with a mission to repair the homes of people in need and revitalize our communities, today announced it presented the Patty R. Johnson Award to Brad Segal during its national Rebuilding Together Training Institute on Friday, October 30, 2020.

The Patty R. Johnson Community Builder Award, named after Rebuilding Together’s founding President and CEO, is awarded to an individual or corporation who best exemplifies dedicated leadership in service to communities in need.

Through Brad Segal’s leadership, Rebuilding Together has seen significant growth and has moved from an organization that worked a few times a year on a handful of homes to a year-round community revitalization that has a deep impact on the communities we serve,” said Caroline Blakely, President and CEO of Rebuilding Together. His dedication and guidance as a national board member will have an indelible mark on the history and future of our organization and the communities we serve.”

After spending 28 years building Bradco Supply into one of the nation’s largest distributors of roofing and related building materials with over 150 locations nationwide, peak sales of $2 billion and 3500 employees, Brad left Bradco when the company was sold to help start ASR Systems, an asphalt shingle recycling company. Brad’s passion for wine led him to purchase a retail wine store in Manhattan with his brother-in-law. He splits his time between the retail wine store and ASR Systems. An Alumni of Syracuse University, Brad was a member of The Syracuse University Franklin Advisory Board. He has been involved with/served on the Harvard University Joint Housing Studies Policy Advisory Board, the National Roofing Contractors Association and The Alliance for Progress. Brad was the Board Chairman of Rebuilding Together’s national Board of Directors from 2012 to 2015. He was appointed to the organization’s governing body in June 2006 and will be stepping down in February 2021.

Rebuilding Together Fox Valley in Menasha, Wisconsin received the Award for Excellence in Programming. The award is presented to a Rebuilding Together affiliate who has developed creative and innovative ways to serve neighbors in their community. Rebuilding Together Nashville in Nashville, Tennessee received the Award for Excellence in Community Engagement. The award highlights the most creative and innovative ways Rebuilding Together affiliates partner with other agencies in their community to provide impact to the community or, more specifically, to a local neighborhood. Rebuilding Together South Sound in Tacoma, Washington received the Award for Excellence in Overall Leadership. The award is presented to a Rebuilding Together affiliate who has shown outstanding growth in development, staffing solutions, administration or overall affiliate growth.

Camyel Young-Calhoun of Rebuilding Together Dayton received the AmeriCorps of the Year Award and Jerry Liu of Rebuilding Together Montgomery County received the Volunteer of the Year Award.